11/DEC/13

Winter!: Prepare for holiday gaming!

Forums top   gamerDNA.com Forums > General > Ask a Hardware Guru

Old 02-21-2007, 07:09 AM

Lan has much to be proud of
Computer Noob Here ><
Alright, basically i know nothing about computers.. to the point of not knowing how to check what i have apparently... this is what ive found
under system properties

Pentium 4 cpu 2.80GHz
2.79 Ghz, 1.50GB of RAM

Nvidia GeForce 6600
SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio

Ugh, thats all i can find in this damn box ><... Basically Im moving to a far off place where computers are not cheap, and i want to either upgrade this... or most likely buy a new computer.. for as cheap as possible, but that will play Vanguard:SoH at optimal, or as close as possible too it heh.

So the Question is, Is there anyway to fix my computer ? and if not, what is the cheapest new computer that will play Vanguard :P
Old 02-21-2007, 09:13 AM
Voice of Reason

Cleric is a cornerstone of the community Cleric is a cornerstone of the community Cleric is a cornerstone of the community
Send a message via Skype™ to Cleric
Your Pentium 4 2.80 GHz is fine. I have a Pentium 4 3.00GHz, and it works well for most anything.

I'm pretty sure you have 2.00 GB of RAM because I do, and for some reason my comp is reading it as 1.50 GB RAM (it once read it as 2.0 GB). If not, then I do suggest upping your RAM to at least 2.0GB.

Sound isn't really an issue with me. I don't exactly need subwoofers to listen to in-game music. :P

As far as graphics go, you'll need a card that will last you through most anything (up to a certain point in time, anyways). I have an ATI Radeon (256 MB) x1950 PRO. It's $250 at Best Buy, and should last you 3-4 years. In this case, it'll definately play Vanguard at max quality.

So, all in all, my suggestion would probably get another 1GB stick of RAM and perhaps upgrading your graphics card. Other than that, you should be fine.

Old 02-21-2007, 10:43 AM
Enthusiast