11/DEC/13

Winter!: Prepare for holiday gaming!


Forums top   gamerDNA.com Forums > General > Ask a Hardware Guru


Post Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-21-2007, 07:09 AM
Lan Lan is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Lan has much to be proud of
Computer Noob Here ><
Alright, basically i know nothing about computers.. to the point of not knowing how to check what i have apparently... this is what ive found
under system properties

Pentium 4 cpu 2.80GHz
2.79 Ghz, 1.50GB of RAM

Nvidia GeForce 6600
SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio

Ugh, thats all i can find in this damn box ><... Basically Im moving to a far off place where computers are not cheap, and i want to either upgrade this... or most likely buy a new computer.. for as cheap as possible, but that will play Vanguard:SoH at optimal, or as close as possible too it heh.

So the Question is, Is there anyway to fix my computer ? and if not, what is the cheapest new computer that will play Vanguard :P
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2007, 09:13 AM
Cleric's Avatar
Cleric Cleric is offline
Voice of Reason
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 361
Cleric is a cornerstone of the community Cleric is a cornerstone of the community Cleric is a cornerstone of the community
Send a message via Skype™ to Cleric
Your Pentium 4 2.80 GHz is fine. I have a Pentium 4 3.00GHz, and it works well for most anything.

I'm pretty sure you have 2.00 GB of RAM because I do, and for some reason my comp is reading it as 1.50 GB RAM (it once read it as 2.0 GB). If not, then I do suggest upping your RAM to at least 2.0GB.

Sound isn't really an issue with me. I don't exactly need subwoofers to listen to in-game music. :P

As far as graphics go, you'll need a card that will last you through most anything (up to a certain point in time, anyways). I have an ATI Radeon (256 MB) x1950 PRO. It's $250 at Best Buy, and should last you 3-4 years. In this case, it'll definately play Vanguard at max quality.

So, all in all, my suggestion would probably get another 1GB stick of RAM and perhaps upgrading your graphics card. Other than that, you should be fine.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2007, 10:43 AM
SpugNothuson's Avatar
SpugNothuson SpugNothuson is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK.
Posts: 133
SpugNothuson has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to SpugNothuson Send a message via Skype™ to SpugNothuson
I also have an nVidia 6600 and it is top of the list for a replacement.

My system is similar to yours and I'm pretty sure it's my Graphics Card that is pulling me down at the moment.
__________________
<a href=http://www.guildcafe.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2448&dateline=1169905441 target=_blank>http://www.guildcafe.com/image.php?t...e=1169905  441</a>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2007, 11:21 AM
tof69 tof69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 7
tof69 has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to tof69
/agree

Your gf card is the limiting element, you don't really need to change anything else at the moment.
Of course you can try to have a much better computer but the price is exponential...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2007, 11:43 AM
EvilAerosolCan's Avatar
EvilAerosolCan EvilAerosolCan is offline
I hate hippies
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Purgatory
Posts: 1,610
EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness EvilAerosolCan is enveloped in a rainbow of effervescent greatness
Same as what everyone else says. Upgrade the video card first, then go up to 2 gigs (or more ) of memory.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2007, 02:37 PM
Lan Lan is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Lan has much to be proud of
Alright, thx for the info, will put it to use :P much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-21-2007, 06:39 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Founding Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,193
Shadow is a paragon of the community Shadow is a paragon of the community Shadow is a paragon of the community Shadow is a paragon of the community Shadow is a paragon of the community
Send a message via AIM to Shadow Send a message via Yahoo to Shadow
I have a 6200 and i am buying a ATI X800 XT PE on ebay for 130 bucks should last me a year or 2...i am very limited on my upgrading however because i am running AGP still and instead of over hauling my entire MoBo I would like a cheap upgrade, what do you think? the X800 got great reviews on the VGA charts on tims
__________________

CHECK OUT THE GAMERDNA CITY
26 % Nerd, 17% Geek, 4% Dork
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2007, 09:50 AM
SpugNothuson's Avatar
SpugNothuson SpugNothuson is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK.
Posts: 133
SpugNothuson has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to SpugNothuson Send a message via Skype™ to SpugNothuson
Just had a quick look at the ATI X800 XT PE and I must say, as an avid nVidia user, that it looks IMPRESSIVE for an AGP.

Never thought I'd say that.

It's got 16 pixel pipelines, which will help... a lot. And the speeds of the benchmarks are hugely impressive too. $130 is a steal mate. Excellenet find!
__________________
<a href=http://www.guildcafe.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2448&dateline=1169905441 target=_blank>http://www.guildcafe.com/image.php?t...e=1169905  441</a>
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2007, 10:23 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Founding Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,193
Shadow is a paragon of the community Shadow is a paragon of the community Shadow is a paragon of the community Shadow is a paragon of the community Shadow is a paragon of the community
Send a message via AIM to Shadow Send a message via Yahoo to Shadow
i lost it forgot to check back during close of auction it went for 142....:cry:
__________________

CHECK OUT THE GAMERDNA CITY
26 % Nerd, 17% Geek, 4% Dork
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2007, 03:08 PM
Keerwen's Avatar
Keerwen Keerwen is offline
Newb Puller
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 67
Keerwen has set foot on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Keerwen Send a message via Yahoo to Keerwen
If you are acutally listening to any sound off of your computer then i would suggest getting a creative labs x-fi card. the amount of resources it takes off the cpu is a big dirfference. But yah what evyerone said do a video card and some more ram.
Reply With Quote
Post Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off