11/DEC/13

Winter!: Prepare for holiday gaming!


Forums top   gamerDNA.com Forums > Gaming > Multiplayer Strategy & RTS Games


Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-11-2008, 02:12 AM
NoNickname's Avatar
NoNickname NoNickname is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: That's classified,Wisconsin
Posts: 20
NoNickname has much to be proud of
Screenshot help
This is a question for anybody. Ok, I have been taking screenshots using the print screen button and I was wondering do I have to go into paint or something to save them or do they all go to a seperate folder where I can access and save all of them?
__________________


http://nonickname.myminicity.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2008, 03:56 AM
Baac's Avatar
Baac Baac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 16
Baac has much to be proud of
Usually, in a game, they have a separate folder for that. If you're doing that on desktop though, i think you have to paste it on paint.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2008, 04:24 PM
zidane's Avatar
zidane zidane is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 134
zidane has much to be proud of
when you print screen it will be save automatically to the folder of the screen shots of the game.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2008, 04:06 PM
Guardian-Commander's Avatar
Guardian-Commander Guardian-Commander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 3
Guardian-Commander has much to be proud of
If you go to My computer, Local Disk (C, program files, the name of the game, then images or screenshots (really depends on the game) they should be saved there, if it wasn't in a game then you have to paste it somewhere like paint first.
__________________

The Best Way to Win is to Lead.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2008, 04:48 AM
NoNickname's Avatar
NoNickname NoNickname is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: That's classified,Wisconsin
Posts: 20
NoNickname has much to be proud of
Sorry it took so long to respond, but I play Rise of Nations, and whenever I take a screenshot using the print screen button, I then check the game folder for a ss folder but didn't find one.
__________________


http://nonickname.myminicity.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2008, 01:53 PM
Retodon8's Avatar
Retodon8 Retodon8 is offline
Savant
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands, NH
Posts: 1,323
Retodon8 is a paragon of the community Retodon8 is a paragon of the community Retodon8 is a paragon of the community Retodon8 is a paragon of the community
Send a message via ICQ to Retodon8 Send a message via MSN to Retodon8 Send a message via Yahoo to Retodon8 Send a message via Skype™ to Retodon8
If I don't know where a game puts the screenshots, I often check for files by date, specifically files made max 1 day ago.
Keep in mind that the game needs to have this kind of support built in.
If it doesn't, the Print Screen key doesn't actually save a file.

By default it acts like a Copy action.
Just like you can select text with your mouse, right click, en select Copy (or use Ctrl + C), it ends up in your Clipboard.
Your Clipboard is basically the "memory" Windows uses for copied stuff.
You still need to Paste the captures image somewhere, for instance in MS Paint, Photoshop, IrfanView, or a Word document, although that last is not really what you usually want.

If you use it, Xfire has a pretty easy to use screenshot system, simplifying things a bit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2008, 02:56 PM
Pocketwolf's Avatar
Pocketwolf Pocketwolf is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 258
Pocketwolf is a paragon of the community Pocketwolf is a paragon of the community Pocketwolf is a paragon of the community Pocketwolf is a paragon of the community Pocketwolf is a paragon of the community
Here are a few (more) possible locations for screenshots:

* Desktop
* Program Files/(name of game or company)
* My Documents/My Games/(name of game or company)
* My Documents/My Pictures/(name of game or company)
* My Documents/(name of game or company)

Note also that sometimes the WinXP clipboard screws up and is very hard to fix... mine's currently on the fritz.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2008, 08:05 PM
Sensational's Avatar
Sensational Sensational is offline
Savant, but with a star!
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sweden.
Posts: 3,186
Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED Sensational CLASSIFIED
Send a message via MSN to Sensational
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoNickname View Post
Sorry it took so long to respond, but I play Rise of Nations, and whenever I take a screenshot using the print screen button, I then check the game folder for a ss folder but didn't find one.
Uh, you should probably begin by making sure that the print screen button is the one that is actually bound to the screenshot function of said game, otherwise it does nothing beyond saving whatever is on your screen when you hit it, sort of like when you do ctrl+c. It also disappears as soon as you take a new print screen. You can use paint to copy your print screen to a more permanent form.
__________________
100% Killer, 47% Achiever, 40% Explorer, 13% Socializer, 200% Awesome.
"BY THE WAY A THREAD , IT USE TO BE CALLED A SENTENCE ! "
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2008, 01:15 AM
Fragment's Avatar
Fragment Fragment is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 103
Fragment is a jewel in the community
Sometimes, for whatever reasons, these screenshots don't save. In that case, you can go to Paint (Start >> Accessories >> Paint) and press Paste (Ctrl + V).

You can then save the file.

You may also need to post it online, for which you need a picture host such as http://www.photobucket.com
__________________
liek mah cupcaek?
Reply With Quote
Post Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off